Skip to content

Malphighiaceae, Plant ID? – Jalisco, Mexico

September 26, 2012

Here are some photos of the fruit and leaf of a small tree / shrub I saw on my last trip in Mexico (Jalisco). Although I am not a trained botanist, the fruit and leaves (to some extent) bear resemblance to Malpigia glabra (emarginata), the Acerola cherry… although it’s definitely not that. If any readers have any suggestions please let me know. For reference, I’m pretty sure this wasn’t planted (it was naturally occurring) although I’m not positive.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2012 10:08:09 pm

    i have seen this/tasted this in the past year, but i do not remember its name. i will keep an eye out for it. z

  2. October 3, 2012 10:08:00 am

    It lookes a lot like Eugenia uniflora – perhaps its a related species…

Say something...