Skip to content

Wild asparagus and a (toxic ?) look-alike – Montenegro

March 31, 2013

 

Yesterday afternoon I spotted a few emerging wild asparagus shoots while walking through an olive grove. Wild asparagus is classified as Asparagus prostratus and thought to be a separate species then (rather then a subspecies of) the commercial / cultivated A. officinalis.

I snapped off a few stems and kept looking,  finding more, but also came across a very similar plant, growing in the same habitat with slightly longer, less rigid stems.

See comparison of photos below. The first is wild asparagus. The second photo is of a plant that grows in the same habitat and looks very similar, popping up as a shoot in early spring and snapping off at the tip.

Wild asparagus below. And a previous post of wild asparagus in Greece from a few years ago.

Wild asparagus, Montenegro

Below is the yet-unidentified asparagus look-alike. I will try to take some more photos of the developed plant / leaves for reference. From what I observed I believe it grows into a spiny vine with leaves that look like a Smilax spp. with a spiny underside. I will verify. Please let me know via the comment forum if you have any idea what it might be.

asparagus look - alike, montenegro

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2013 10:08:05 pm

    I much prefer wild asparagus to the cultivated: it’s like expresso rather than instant. We’ve been picking it here in the South of France for a couple of weeks too. The other spears look very much like Smilax – and according to my reference books, that’s edible too. Did you try it?

    • April 4, 2013 10:08:19 pm

      Interesting and good to hear about the potential confirmation of that being a Smilax spp. I’ll look into it a bit more. Do you have a species name? I tried a bit raw, but only a limited amount, as I have had a number incidents (both good and bad) self-administering dubiously identified fruit/etc. From what I tried it didn’t taste poisonous. I’d be very interested to know if they’re edible as they seem to be popping up everywhere here.

      • April 4, 2013 10:08:05 pm

        I blogged about Smilax aspera on Oct 30th last year. All the web sources, including PFAF, say the shoots are edible as asparagus (to which Smilax is related), but none show a photo of the shoots so I think you’ve got a world exclusive there.

  2. April 8, 2013 10:08:34 pm

    2 asparagus (true and “like”) plants that are edible for the price of one? BONUS! 🙂 Cheers to both of you for sharing…off to check out lojardinier’s blog 🙂

  3. September 23, 2013 10:08:03 pm

    Many in the sister properties have free rooms intended for local players after they visit Vegas.

    You have choices in food, gambling, entertainment, transportation, and side trips.

    The Kid’s Tyme Child Care Center is open a week every week and it is open to children several years to twelve years old.

Say something...