Skip to content

Phasmatodea, stickbug, walking stick – Jalisco, Mexico

October 23, 2014

I am no entomologist, but I do believe this is a stickbug. I took the photo on the Costa Careyes, Jalisco.

Please pass along any additional info via comment forum…

Stickbug, Mexico

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2014 10:08:27 am

    That does look like a stick-bug (stick insect/walking stick/Phasmatodea). Very nice shot.

    • October 23, 2014 10:08:05 pm

      Bill, thanks for the comment and ID info. Phasmatodea, great sounding name.

  2. October 23, 2014 10:08:05 pm

    We have a lot of these in Morelos. I was told they horse die if they eat them.

    • October 27, 2014 10:08:17 pm

      Huh, interesting. I wonder if that’s true and what would in the stickbug would be responsible for the toxicity?

      • October 28, 2014 10:08:21 pm

        i have wondered the same myself. But I do remove them from my pastures.

  3. October 23, 2014 10:08:37 pm

    Looks like one to me. We get them here and they are very big. We had one on our bbq and didn’t want to toast him so had to remove him and he really didn’t want to go. When they get excited they sway from side to side and wave their front legs in the air menacingly. I tipped him into a saucepan and dumped him unceremoniously over the deck into the clematis. Char grilled bbq smoke is great but “walking stick” bbq smoke? Not so great!😉

Say something...

