Skip to content

Alternative Crops for Drylands – by Scott O’Bar

April 5, 2013

I want to bring reader’s attention to a recently published book: Alternative Crops for Drylands: Proactively Adapting to Climate Change and Water Shortage by Scott O’Bar.

I haven’t read the book yet, but I am definitely ordering a few. Judging by the table of contents and sample chapter, it looks extremely interesting and informative. I’m seeing a lot of species in the table of contents that I’m not familiar with.

So if you are interested in plants, food, sustainable agriculture / permaculture, agroforestry, adapting to climate change, or simply curious about the fascinating and diverse world of edible and medicinal plants I highly recommend you order the book.

Additionally, on the book’s website you will find some very useful links anda great collection of free PDF downloads.

Once I’ve had a chance to read the book I’ll follow-up this post with a review.

When reading the book, keep an eye out for photos contributed by Anthropogen for entries on Khat (Catha edulis) and Pigeon Pea (Cajanus cajan).

Smaller-Cover-380-x-571-px

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2013 10:08:21 pm

    this looks like a wonderful book! i look forward to the review! z

    • April 11, 2013 10:08:48 pm

      I can’t wait to read it. I will start as soon as I get back to the US.

  2. April 8, 2013 10:08:13 pm

    An excellent share Spencer. Can’t wait to read the review. Does the book mention Tepary beans? I bought some from a small experimental producer here in Tasmania who is focussing on growing high density calorie crops in dry conditions. They are apparently from the U.S. and are very waterwise. Let us know if they are in the book🙂. Cheers for the free PDF hook up as well🙂

    • Anonymous permalink
      April 13, 2013 10:08:46 pm

      I’ve been looking for good Tepary bean recipes. Let me know if you run across any.

  3. April 8, 2013 10:08:12 pm

    Given the state of climate change and how our climate here is drying out much like in America, dry climate plants will become a necessity for most in order to eat, rather than just a waterwise grow.

Say something...

