Skip to content

Seed and leaf of unknown identity

January 12, 2013

 

I took this these photos last week in Jalisco, Mexico. I have yet to ID this tree species. Any help/suggestions from visitors to this site would be greatly appreciated. IMG_6022

And a photo of the seedpod below.

Seed and leaf of unknown identity

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. diplodican permalink
    January 12, 2013 10:08:46 pm

    Check with Burl Mostul of Rare Plant Research in Oregon City Oregon…burl@rareplantresearch.com…. he travelled through there for years collecting seeds etc and knows all the trees pretty well.He has a nursery in Oregon too. I think I know the tree as well but i just can’t recall its name at the moment. I’ll see if I can find my book that I think has it. in the meantime see if you can send Burl, the photos.

  2. January 12, 2013 10:08:21 pm

    I posted the images to the Big Leaf Tropicals group on Yahoo. I’ll let you know what shakes out.

  3. January 12, 2013 10:08:13 pm

    Vachellia rigidula?

    http://www.cpbr.gov.au/jmiller/factsheets/Vachellia/rigidula.htm

    (Must be an invasive in Australia, they have the best documentation and photos.)

  4. January 13, 2013 10:08:25 pm

    I looked at it and thought “cassia”…is it this? http://www.flickr.com/photos/martinedevolder/2456200849/
    The seed pod was the reason I thought this. I hope you find out what it is, it certainly looks leguminous whatever it is 🙂

  5. January 13, 2013 10:08:27 pm

    I’m always hesitant to reply to ID requests since my knowledge base is lesser than those who’ve studied and travelled extensively, but this time I’ll go out on a limb 😉

    My best guess is based on my memory of a discussion we had in MG class last winter concerning a tropical tree known as Ant Acacia I googled that common name but could find no botanical name coinciding with it (one result even showed a tree with completely incorrect leaves! .)
    Take a look at this link, though; it could possibly be a Jarrataderas Tree:
    https://www.vallartaonline.com/information/SpotLight/LaJarretaderatheAntTree/

  6. January 13, 2013 10:08:36 pm

    The constricted segments of the seed capsule, and the compression of the seed in the center are what lead me to Acacia / Vachellia rigidula. The acuminate tip of the foliage also points in this direction:

Say something...

