Skip to content

Some photos of mushrooms – California

November 27, 2012

Here are some photos I’ve taken over the past few days of random mushroom species that have been popping up. It’s that time of year.

I took a stab at trying to ID a few. If you know any of the IDs please let me know via the comment forum. Much appreciated. If you’re interested, here are more photos I’ve taken of fungi/mushrooms over the years… and the occasional fungi-related article.

Click individual photos to enlarge.

I think the photo above and below are Coprinus lagopus.

I think the photo below is of some old Naematoloma fasciculare.

Note sure what the species is in the two following photos.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2012 10:08:34 pm

    Just lovely…

  2. November 29, 2012 10:08:42 am

    Fabulous photos. I once was coppicing in some Hertfordshire woods during a mega rain and was transfixed watching a mushroom release its spores in a smoky cloud every time a rain drop bounced off the “shell”. It was beautiful. Nicola http://aroundbritainnoplane.blogspot.com

  3. November 29, 2012 10:08:50 pm

    We have been experiencing some mushroom action of our own here on Serendipity Farm. We top dressed our new addition veggie garden beds with mushroom compost from a local mushroom supplier and are getting all sorts of mushrooms growing on the medium including lots of edibles that we are enjoying. I found a really weird one that looked like a sea sponge yesterday that was hollow like a cup and one that looked like your first photo. I LOVE fungi. Aside from wanting to know which fungi I can eat (obviously my first reasoning 😉 ) I just love how fungus is so important to our entire biosphere and am absolutely fascinated by them.

Say something...

