Skip to content

Amblypygida spp., tailless whip scorpion – Careyes, Mexico

August 4, 2012

Initially I had thought this was a Thelyphonida species, which I photographed in Jalisco, Mexico, however thanks to the following informative comment from reader Dan Proud, I stand corrected… I quote Dan’s comment here: “I’d like to point out that this is actually a species belonging to the arachnid order Amblypygida (and not Thelyphonida). The most common name for amblypygids is tailless whip scorpion – because they lack that long whip-like “tail” found on vinegarroons. Amblypygids are certainly fascinating creatures and are also completely harmless (lack venom, don’t bite – they may try to claw at you with their intimidating pedipalps but it is painless)!

Thanks for the info Dan…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Click photo to enlarge…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2012 10:08:12 pm

    ahhh, but its so crazy looking. hahah Its really nice to know its actually not going to kill me if i ever visit a country where these little critters live. 🙂 thanks for posting this. Learn something new every day on this site.

  2. August 5, 2012 10:08:58 am

    I don’t care if it’s harmless, I’m not messing with anything that ugly.

  3. August 9, 2012 10:08:33 am

    Very cool photos! These animals are incredible! I hope you won’t be offended if I offer a correction to the ID of this specimen. I’d like to point out that this is actually a species belonging to the arachnid order Amblypygida (and not Thelyphonida). The most common name for amblypygids is tailless whip scorpion – because they lack that long whip-like “tail” found on vinegarroons. Amblypygids are certainly fascinating creatures and are also completely harmless (lack venom, don’t bite – they may try to claw at you with their intimidating pedipalps but it is painless)!

    • August 9, 2012 10:08:04 am

      Dan, thanks a lot for the interesting and informative comment, exactly the kind of feedback I appreciate getting on this site, I’ll update the I’d info as soon as I have a chance. Come back soon!

  4. August 10, 2012 10:08:13 am

    Looks edible!

Say something...

