Skip to content

Scorpion, Centruroides spp.- Jalisco, Mexico

July 27, 2012

I got stung by a very poisonous scorpion in Mexico last week, a few days after getting stung I took photos of this one. I’m not sure if its the same species as the one that stung me, but definitely the same genus, Centruroides. Possibly C. elegans? I’m no scorpion expert, but I know it can be difficult to identify different species in this genus. Any ID suggestions from scorpion authorities visiting this page are welcome and greatly appreciated.

Needless to say, getting stung by one of these bugs was perhaps one of the most painful things have ever experienced. I made it to a nearby clinic pretty quickly and was put on an IV drip of Anascorp anti-venom serum for a while. Anascorp is made from horse plasma. Luckily, I wasn’t subject to some of the more unfortunate symptoms that can occur from this sing, which include slurred speech, increased salivation, foaming at the mouth, vomiting, feeling short of breath, abnormal eye movements, loss of muscle control, and death. After getting stung an aching sensation crept up my arm from my hand ( I got stung on the finger ), coupled with a feeling like ants were crawling up my arm, then I got this odd fuzzy tickling sensation all over my face, starting with my nose. The finger I got stung on is still numb, five days later.

All in all, to be the victim of such a highly evolved organism was an interesting experience.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sunnyace permalink
    July 27, 2012 10:08:39 am

    Reblogged this on Sunnyace Reblog Collections.

  2. Sunnyace permalink
    July 27, 2012 10:08:51 am

    Reblogged this on Sunnyace Reblog Collections.

  3. July 27, 2012 10:08:07 pm

    Yep, hurts like crazy 🙂 fortunatley we have remedy injection in the small town clinic near us, I’ve been stung 3 times, my husband… we quit counting, he strips a peice of bark off a cuatelaalche? tree and ties off the nearest vein with it, he’s kind of a macho. paz, Abby

  4. July 29, 2012 10:08:44 am

    Although our scorpions are not as dangerous as that one, we have seen a fair few of them around lately and 2 today alone. Both of them female and both of them pretty big so I dare say our summer is going to be scorpion prone. Sorry to hear that you got bitten and hope sensation returns to your finger soon

Say something...

