Skip to content

Denver Botanic Gardens, Boettcher Memorial Tropical Conservatory – Denver, Colorado

April 8, 2012

I visited the Denver Botanical Gardens last week where I was offered a walk through tour from Panayoti Kelaidis, senior curator and director of outreach and walking encyclopedia, who has worked at the Denver Botanic Gardens for 30 years. Here’s Kelaidis’ blog, Prairie Break, full of good photos and information.

I returned to the gardens a few days after my initial visit for a more methodical wander. It would take a lifetime to become fully acquainted with the collection, which is vast. I believe it is one of the largest botanical collections in the country. Much of the flora in the gardens lies outside my range of climactic/geographical expertise. Although I felt most at home in the tropical plant conservatory, it is always abundantly clear that being surrounded by an unfamiliar array of plants is humbling and beneficial, always a good thing. Needless to say, if I lived in or near Denver I would visit this incredible facility constantly, throughout the seasons of the year.

The Boettcher Memorial Tropical Conservatory at Denver Botanic Gardens is the largest single structure tropical conservatory in the United States. The building was designed by Denver architects Victor Hornbein and Ed White Jr. in 1964. The structure (see photos below) consists of interlaced concrete arches inset with Plexiglas panels. The conservatory incorporates more than 85,000 sq ft (7,900 m2). of plants from tropical climates around the world. Click here for a list of the plants in the Boettcher Conservatory. Because the conservatory is somewhat of an icon of the gardens, I thought I’d upload some photos.

In addition to the conservatory photos below, I’ll upload some additional images from other areas of the gardens in a later post.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 8, 2012 10:08:51 pm

    goodness you are EVERYWHERE lately! I’m having trouble keeping up with (and keeping straight!!) all the names of the plants you’re showing!! Thanks for the tip on “prairie break.” I took a look there and if I can figure out how to follow that one other than thru google, I will….great finds all around!!. Also because I’m too time-crunched this easter sunday to go back to your iBoPlanet App posting, I’m leaving a comment about that here too. After reading through the kickstarter page for that app, I invested in it, and heard yesterday it’s creator has a possibility of VC funding so may go that route. Around the time you posted about it, I needed an oral project for my master gardening certificate class and decided it was the perfect topic to share in class. I know two other classmates were impressed enough to go to kickstarter too, so wanted you to know that your blog post meant something to at least several people (especially me!) who mightn’t have heard about it otherwise!
    have a great holiday today, and sorry this got so longwinded!

Say something...

