Skip to content

Aristolocaceae, Aristolochia spp, Jalisco Mexico

July 29, 2011

Found this Aristolochia species growing near Careyes, in Jalisco. It can be recognized by their heart-shaped leaves. Let me know if you know the species name.

Here are some additional updated photos, of flower, leaf and seedpod on a followup post…

And a link to more species and photos from the Aristolochia genus

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2012 10:08:15 pm

    Did you see any flower? I have the mexican Aristolochia taliscana in my collection, I think its foliage looks very similar to the plant in your pictures:
    Aristolochia taliscana

    • March 12, 2012 10:08:52 am

      Thanks for the comment. Great photo from your flicker link. There were no fully developed flowers, however, I think I recall there being a small one in one of the photos I took. I’ll try to dig it up and post it. The leaves do look similar to the A. taliscana you’ve referenced. Where did you take the photo?

      • March 12, 2012 10:08:54 pm

        I took the photo at home (Germany). I have grown this species from seeds about three years ago.

        • March 22, 2012 10:08:18 am

          There is an Aristolochia native to Greece that I’ve been looking for. I’ve collected and grown some of the central American species.

Trackbacks

  1. Aristolochaceae, Aristolochia spp. – Jalisco, Mexico «

Say something...

