Skip to content

Edible Schoolyard, first tree planting phase

May 15, 2009

Today I continued working with students and teachers at Escuela Isaac Rabin on our edible schoolyard project. I brought a variety of interesting, useful plants, mostly trees, which we planted throughout a corner and two boarders of the grounds. I didn’t take any photos but some of the students were documenting the whole process, taking notes, filming and taking photos, so hopefully I can get a hold of some of their photos to upload on this site.

Today we focused on planting trees. During our next phase of planting we will be focusing on inter-planting smaller, shorter-lived plants (mostly edible) in between the trees, so as to take advantage of the open ground and sun exposure while the trees are still relatively small. We also plan to take advantage of the fence as a vertical trellis for vines.

Below is list of the species we’ve planted so far, each one links to its respective entry.

Kaffir lime

Carambola, Cereza China (Panama),Starfruit

Curry Tree

Neem

Achiote

Moringa

Jackfruit

Garlic vine

Miracle fruit

Guanabana

Peanut-butter fruit

Cola nut

Suriname cherry

Biriba

Papaya

Orchid tree

Albaca (Basil), I will upload a page

Oregano, I will upload a page

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2009 10:08:11 pm

    Great blog! I’ve visited in the past and was really impressed with urban development plan. Great to see your progress. I’m adding you to my blog roll right now.

  2. Sandra Ramirez permalink
    May 19, 2009 10:08:29 am

    I have some Pacay (Inga feuilleei) seeds. The fruit in pods is all over the place at this time of the year. I’ll try to get them to sprout in pots before transplanting. I was trying to get some info about the plant (originally from Peru) but haven’t found much.

    Apparently Dave here is desperate for some info as well :
    http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/175694/

    Or should we plant seeds directly on the soil around the trees?

  3. Sandra Ramirez permalink
    May 19, 2009 10:08:27 pm

    I just checked Arboles y Arbustos de Panama. The pods are Inga multijuga fruit, or Guaba. It’s a huge tree, 20m +. I’ll try the seeds and maybe we could transplant on our new campus site in the future. I’ll stick to the books for identification from now on.
    Regards.

    • May 19, 2009 10:08:11 pm

      Yeah, books are always easier to ID with. The Guaba are excellent fast growing, nitrogen fixing trees. Try to germinate them in a pot and the students can transplant them into larger nursery bags in a month or so when they’re about eight inches tall.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    August 13, 2011 10:08:07 am

    Hey Spencer,
    Your plants at Isaac Rabin are getting big. The jackfruit have been putting out lots of male flowers but no female flowers yet.
    Brandon

  5. August 23, 2012 10:08:29 pm

    Spencer,
    Hope all is groovy! Where did you get the Jackfruit seeds that you planted as seedlings at Isaac Rabin? Do you remember what variety it was? One tree has about 8 young fruits on it. Take Care
    Brandon

    • August 24, 2012 10:08:19 am

      Hey Brandon,

      Good to hear from you. Those seeds came from trees that I and others I had been working with planted on a private agroforestry project on one of the Bocas Islands. About 60 hecs of land, huge variety of fruit, nuts, and edible perennial species. I propagated some of the more superior varieties and that generation is what is growing in Issac Rabin. I don’t remember exactly what varieties they were. Jackfruit can range quite drastically in quality, flavor, size, but I can pretty much assure those are a good variety.

      Next time you’re in Casco Viejo check out the two trees I planted in front of the Benedetti building on Avenida Central (next to national lottery building). They are quite massive now considering their age and are also bearing fruit.

      If you have a chance I’d love to see photos of the Issac Rabin trees. Have any been harvested and eaten yet? If you send a few I’ll post them up on this site. For larger fruit and better development it is good practice keep one fruit per stalk, sometimes multiple fruit will develop off the same stem. Reduce these down to one. The green fruit is also eaten in a variety of ways so it isn’t wasted.

      I hope all is well. Keep in touch.

      All my best, Spencer

Say something...

