Skip to content

Conservatorio vivero, full

March 31, 2008

Conservatorio nursery, full

The Conservatorio nursery is almost totally full. I’ve been making more use of more exposed sun areas, moving select species out from under the shadecloth (wood apple, kaffir lime, curry tree, rose apple, brazillian guava, blue grape (M. vexator). Within the next week or two I’ll have another, larger nursery up in the Santa Familia building off of Avenida A. I have been waiting to transplant pots of germinated seeds so I can use them to begin populating the new structure, where I’d like to represent all of the species I have in Conservatorio in addition to new varieties. Among other things, I intend to focus more on palms. I have many germinated acai which seems like it would be an excellent urban palm due to its compact size, mulitple edible uses, and general attractiveness. In addition I have some native species from the surrounding national park areas, and misc. species collected from the botanical garden.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2009 10:08:54 pm

    Are you able to get seeds of blue grape (M. vexator)? Do you know superb cambuca (Plinia edulis)? I would like to exchange.

    See photos of cambuca both on my website and blog.

    Cheers

    • February 8, 2009 10:08:44 pm

      Plinia edulis looks very interesting. I had not previously heard of it. I can get seed of M. vexator, but unfortunately this time of year it is not bearing fruit. I would definitely be interested in doing a seed exchange. Do you have either camu-camu or guarana? Thanks for the link to your site, looks great. Do you grow all the available plants?

Say something...

