Skip to content

Burseraceae, Canarium commune, Canari, Java Almond

April 16, 2009

I have collected and propagated Pilinut (Canarium ovatum), but just yesterday I discovered one solitary tree of another species. The tree was very tall, with slender trunk, absolutely loaded with these fruits containing nuts. I collected a handful for propagation. I’m pretty sure its C. commune.

Licuala grandis

dscf6228

2 Comments leave one →
  1. marc permalink
    July 8, 2011 10:08:49 pm

    hi, how can you tell the difference from the Pili nut?

    • July 8, 2011 10:08:07 pm

      From my experience, I would say the most striking difference would be in the size and growth habit of the tree, the leaf shape, and the nut shape (nuts are a bit smaller and not as elongated). If you look at the Pili Nut post on the site you can compare differences, which are subtle. I walked by the java almond tree numerous times before looking up and realizing what it was.

Say something...